Russell Library now offers curbside pickup! Call 860-347-2528 or visit https://russelllibrary.org/curbside-pickup/ to take advantage of this convenient service. 

I'm not dying with you tonight
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Segal, Gilly, author.
Published:
Naperville, IL : Sourcebooks Fire, ©2019.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
247 pages ; 22 cm.
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 740L
Status:
6 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Description

The New York Times Bestseller!

"An absolute page turner,I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. " --Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I'm Not Dying with You Tonightfollows two teen girls--one black, one white--who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their city on fire with civil unrest.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she's going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school.

When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together.

They aren't friends. They hardly understand the other's point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they're going to survive the night.

This book is perfect for:

Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension that exists in America Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason Reynolds

Additional Praise for I'm Not Dying with You Tonight: "A vital addition to the YA race relations canon." --Nic Stone,New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don't hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come." --Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

"I'm Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jones and Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive." --David Arnold,New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitolandand Kids of Appetite

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Middletown/Russell NEW Young Adult Book
YA-JONES
Due Jul 30, 2020
Location
Call Number
Status
Essex Young Adult Fiction
YA JONES
In Transit
Meriden Teen Center
YA FIC SEGAL
Billed
Wallingford Young Adult Fiction
YA JONES
On Shelf
Westbrook Young Adult Fiction
YA F SEG
On Shelf
Woodbridge Young Adult Fiction
YA JONES (NEW)
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781492678892
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.3, 7 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
740

Notes

Description
Told from two viewpoints, Atlanta high school seniors Lena and Campbell, one black, one white, must rely on each other to survive after a football rivalry escalates into a riot.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jones, K., & Segal, G. (2019). I'm not dying with you tonight. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks Fire.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jones, Kimberly and Gilly, Segal. 2019. I'm Not Dying With You Tonight. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks Fire.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jones, Kimberly and Gilly, Segal, I'm Not Dying With You Tonight. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks Fire, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jones, Kimberly, and Gilly Segal. I'm Not Dying With You Tonight. Naperville, IL: Sourcebooks Fire, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
082f0c01-b7fc-4d63-f4d5-c47739b1b8f2
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJul 10, 2020 02:52:13 PM
Last File Modification TimeJul 10, 2020 02:52:52 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJul 10, 2020 02:52:42 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02018nam a2200361 i 4500
003DLC
00520190307183122.0
008190307s2019    ilu    c      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2019008892
020 |a 9781492678892|q (hardcover)
040 |a MvI-LONL|b eng|c MvI-LONL
1001 |a Jones, Kimberly|q (Kimberly Latrice),|e author.
24510|a I'm not dying with you tonight /|c Kimberly Jones, Gilly Segal.
24630|a I am not dying with you tonight.
264 1|a Naperville, IL :|b Sourcebooks Fire,|c ©2019.
300 |a 247 pages ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a Told from two viewpoints, Atlanta high school seniors Lena and Campbell, one black, one white, must rely on each other to survive after a football rivalry escalates into a riot.
650 1|a Race relations|v Fiction.
650 1|a Riots|v Fiction.
650 1|a African Americans|v Fiction.
651 1|a Atlanta (Ga.)|v Fiction.
7001 |a Segal, Gilly,|e author.
907 |a .b26224495|b 07-10-20|c 07-24-19
998 |a ex|a (2)me|a (2)md|a (2)wa|a ws|a (2)wd|b 08-23-19|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g ilu|h 0|i 10
945 |a YA JONES |g 0|h  - - |i 21501119644|j 6|l exyf |m Sat Jun 27 2020 09:56AM: IN TRANSIT from excircc to gu |n p 8/19|o -|p $15.00|q -|r -|s t |t 70|u 2|v 1|w 1|x 1|y .i63201811|z 08-16-19
945 |a YA FIC SEGAL |g 0|h 01-18-20|i 20905661805|j 12|l mey |n 8/19 B&T 17.99/9.57|o -|p $9.57|q -|r -|s n |t 70|u 2|v 2|w 0|x 2|y .i63237593|z 08-27-19
945 |a YA-JONES |g 1|h 07-30-20|i 21406682837|j 13|l mdd |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 3|v 2|w 1|x 2|y .i63461742|z 10-17-19
945 |a YA JONES |g 0|h  - - |i 21707688483|j 19|l wayf |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 6|v 4|w 1|x 5|y .i63256460|z 08-30-19
945 |a YA F SEG |g 0|h  - - |i 21600821835|j 20|l wsyf |o -|p $18.00|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i63213898|z 08-20-19
945 |a YA JONES (NEW)|g 1|h  - - |i 21802570602|j 21|l wdyf |o -|p $17.99|q -|r -|s - |t 70|u 3|v 0|w 0|x 3|y .i63215524|z 08-20-19