Russell Library is open for grab-and-go service as well as curbside pickup Monday - Saturday 9:00am - 5:00pm. Call 860-347-2528 or visit https://russelllibrary.org/curbside-pickup/ to take advantage of this convenient service.

 

The sound of stars
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : Harlequin Audio, 2020.
Format:
eAudiobook
Edition:
Unabridged.
Content Description:
1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 23 min.)) : digital.
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.8 - AR Pts: 16
Status:
Description

Don't miss this spectacular debut novel... Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth. Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population. Seventeen-year-old Janelle "Ellie" Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. Deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, humanity's emotional transgressions are now grounds for execution. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her. Born in a lab, M0Rr1S (Morris) was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie's illegal library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They're both breaking the rules for love of art-and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does. Ellie's-and humanity's-fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution-thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while making a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781488207679 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book), 1488207674 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.8, 16 Points

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Participants/Performers
Read by Joy Sunday, Christian Barillas.
Description
Don't miss this spectacular debut novel... Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth. Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population. Seventeen-year-old Janelle "Ellie" Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. Deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, humanity's emotional transgressions are now grounds for execution. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her. Born in a lab, M0Rr1S (Morris) was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie's illegal library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They're both breaking the rules for love of art-and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does. Ellie's-and humanity's-fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution-thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while making a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Dow, A., Sunday, J., & Barillas, C. (2020). The sound of stars. Unabridged. [United States]: Harlequin Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Dow, Alechia, Joy, Sunday and Christian, Barillas. 2020. The Sound of Stars. [United States]: Harlequin Audio.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Dow, Alechia, Joy, Sunday and Christian, Barillas, The Sound of Stars. [United States]: Harlequin Audio, 2020.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Dow, Alechia,, Joy Sunday, and Christian Barillas. The Sound of Stars. Unabridged. [United States]: Harlequin Audio, 2020.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
2ac1e2e7-fc2f-7774-e66b-78914d83252c
Go To GroupedWork

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId12577610
titleThe Sound of Stars
kindAUDIOBOOK
price2.99
active0
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedApr 16, 2021 06:11:59 PM

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 10:49:22 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 16, 2021 06:11:01 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03343nim a22004815a 4500
001MWT12577610
003MWT
00520200528105341.1
006m     o  h        
007sz zunnnnnuned
007cr nnannnuuuua
008200228s2020    xxunnn es      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781488207679 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
020 |a 1488207674 (sound recording : hoopla Audio Book)
02842|a MWT12577610
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9781488207679_180.jpeg
037 |a 12577610|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
099 |a eAudiobook hoopla
1001 |a Dow, Alechia,|e author.
24514|a The sound of stars|h [electronic resource] /|c Alechia Dow.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1|a [United States] :|b Harlequin Audio,|c 2020.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource (1 audio file (12hr., 23 min.)) :|b digital.
336 |a spoken word|b spw|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
344 |a digital|h digital recording|2 rda
347 |a data file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
5110 |a Read by Joy Sunday, Christian Barillas.
520 |a Don't miss this spectacular debut novel... Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth. Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population. Seventeen-year-old Janelle "Ellie" Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. Deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, humanity's emotional transgressions are now grounds for execution. All art, books and creative expression are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her. Born in a lab, M0Rr1S (Morris) was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie's illegal library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They're both breaking the rules for love of art-and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does. Ellie's-and humanity's-fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution-thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while making a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Human-alien encounters|v Fiction.
650 0|a Books|v Fiction.
651 0|a New York (N.Y.)|v Fiction.
7001 |a Sunday, Joy,|e narrator.
7001 |a Barillas, Christian,|e narrator.
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12577610?utm_source=MARC|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/hpc_9781488207679_180.jpeg